2016 New Year’s Resolution – Organize My Genealogy!

stack-of-research

With 2016 just around the corner, I am thinking about New Year’s Resolutions for my genealogy life (plus other areas).  The start of a new year seems to be the perfect time to focus on organizing those mounds of loose papers and files.  I have “started organizing” them several times.  It sometimes feels like I have reorganized so many times that I am unsure what I have, much less where I put it.

Organizing my genealogy is a MUST-DO and is number one for my genealogy New Year’s Resolutions!

Lucky for me — and others like me — Thomas MacEntee over at Geneabloggers is offering great assistance and a plan with a monthly focus over the 2016 year.

During 2015,  MacEntee had released several “weekly” topics/lessons to help family researchers hit the “RESET” button and clean-up accumulated pieces.  I really wanted to do this – but failed miserably – probably due to the pace of the topics (weekly) and the juggling of the rest of my life (full-time job and family).  I am hoping that a year’s plan with a monthly topic is the answer.  It should provide the added emphasis that I need, at a reasonable pace.

MacEntee’s long awaited Genealogy Do-Over Workbook  will be available through Amazon.com on Monday, December 28th. A Kindle version should be available for about $5.99, making it a “must have”.   This will be a wonderful resource to help me get a jumpstart on the plan.

Then starting Friday, January 1, 2016, at the Genealogy Do-Over Blog  , MacEntee will be posting a lesson/topic  each month for the entire year of 2016.

For more information and a listing of the yearly topics click over to check out the post from MacEntee:

The Genealogy Do-Over: 2016 Topics

The Genealogy Do-Over switches to a monthly format for topics in 2016 – here is the lineup.

2016 Monthly Topics/Lineup

 

Leave a Reply

