Me & My Dad

My dad …. born in Maury County, Tennessee on October 22, 1932. His parents were William Henry Norman & Mary Caroline Gibson (both born in the late 1800s). My dad, Charles William Norman, was the second of their three children. I remember him as a tall and strong man. He was kind, giving and enjoyed people. He was funny and sometimes a bit of a prankster. He loved his kids and he worked hard to give them a better life. He had only an 8th grade education, but was smarter than most of the people I know. I think a favorite time in his life was when he was in law enforcement. These pictures were made when he worked for the Pasco County (Florida) Sheriff’s Office (Leland Thompson was the sheriff). Back then, you – as a deputy – had to buy your own car. He later worked for the Dade City Police Department, serving as an officer and detective. I think he felt that he made a difference, served honorably, was loyal and a man of his word & was a good role model for his kids. I have often wished that I had been given more time with him; as I lost him only after 16 years. I do believe that I am his daughter & he would be standing proud beside me today if he could. I – like my dad – am a dreamer. I know that I have some of his strength, his desire to serve and love others, his loyalty to those that I call & know as a friend, love for my family, & a drive to be better, because the world may be a little better for it. 

#dad #tjnv #godisgreat #lifeisgood #genealogy #maurycounty #maurycountytn #respect #honor #serveothers #leo #bluelivesmatter #parents #dreamer #loyaltofriends

Leave a Reply

